The Eggless Tort

A New York lawyer's adventures with animal-free eating

Fall, pumpkins and food

So, this post is a little late. I’m sure you’re shocked. But that’s pretty much how I roll, so get used to it…

I love the fall. Except for the freezing cold, frost on my windows, no longer having stuff from my garden part. I love the part before that. Part of that is getting to do fun things like carve pumpkins. Love it.

Another part of that is the food I get to eat: pumpkin spice coffee, pumpkin bread, apple pie, apple cider donuts…. Another fall favorite is pumpkin/squash seeds. I love salting and roasting them so I can snack on them. I just love crunchy, savory things. In fact, I’m hungry right now. Too bad I don’t have any roasted seeds with me.

If you’ve never done it, you just remove the seeds from the pumpkin/squash (both are good) and rinse them. Then you put them on a cookie sheet and bake them for 5-10 either at 450 or on broil. Pay close attention while you do it so they don’t burn. Or don’t burn too much. I like mine extra crispy, so I ride a fine line 🙂

Leave a Reply

