The Eggless Tort

A New York lawyer's adventures with animal-free eating

My mom’s (now vegan) chocolate pudding cake

I’ve been on this kick of vegan baking in an attempt to make my family admit that vegan baking is the same as or better than regular baking. By sheer force of my will, they ARE GOING TO admit this. Hopefully.

Anyway, it was my sister’s birthday the other day. And I kinda found out that the party was being hosted at my house at the last minute… so I decided to make a chocolate pudding cake. What’s not to love about it, right? It’s cake, it’s pudding, it’s chocolate… mmm.

Chocolate Pudding Cake

Batter –
2 cups flour
1 cup milk (I used almond milk)
1 1/2 cups sugar
4 tbsp. shortening (I used Spectrum Organic)
4 tbsp. cocoa
4 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt

Topping –
2 cups brown sugar
1/2 cup cocoa

3 1/2 cups boiling water

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Mix the batter ingredients together until fairly smooth, then pour the batter into a 13 x 9″ pan.

Mix the topping ingredients together, then sprinkle the topping over the batter in the pan (I used a sifter for this).

Pour the hot water over the batter and sugar mixture.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

It’s hard to take a good picture of this cake, because the pudding is separate (sort’ve) from the cake. I served mine with So Delicious Neapolitan Ice Cream. Love it!!

2 responses to “My mom’s (now vegan) chocolate pudding cake

  1. CL October 15, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    It seems so simple, I love the idea! I wonder if this can done in vanilla/coconut? I’m thinking Vanilla So Delicious coconut milk, and coconut oil instead of shortening.

    Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

