The Eggless Tort

A New York lawyer's adventures with animal-free eating

Super Easy Vegan Red Beans and Rice

My husband and I visited New Orleans for the first time last spring. We absolutely loved it, and we loved southern food. Of course, that was before I became vegan… Now I’m in the process of veganizing all of the recipes I picked up down there. Red beans and rice was one of my favorite dishes (especially prepared by my husband’s cousin), but it’s usually flavored primarily with meat. Obviously, that’s not gonna cut it. Here’s my (vegan) take on this dish.

Vegan Red Beans and Rice

2 cups rice, prepared however you prefer
2 links of vegan kielbasa (I use Tofurky), or whatever kind of sausage you prefer, cut diagonally into 1/4 inch slices
1 onion, chopped or 4 green onions
1 green bell pepper, chopped
3 cloves (3 tsp.) minced garlic
2 (15 ounce) cans canned kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 (16 ounce) can diced tomatoes
1/2 tsp. dried oregano
2 tsp. Creole seasoning (I use Tony Chachere’s) – this is a little hot, adjust to your heat level
1/2 tsp. pepper

In a large skillet over low heat, cook sausage in 2 tsp. olive oil for 5 minutes.

Stir in onion, green pepper and garlic, and saute until tender.

Add the beans and tomatoes with juice. Season with oregano, Creole seasoning and pepper, then simmer uncovered for 20 minutes.

Add the cooked rice and combine.

I served this with a veganized version of the Cheddar and Green Onion Biscuits from Healthy Delicious (I used Earth Balance, Almond Breeze and Daiya cheddar). Super good!!

2 responses to “Super Easy Vegan Red Beans and Rice

  1. veggal September 23, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    That looks wonderful! Another kidney beans gravy that would go well with your rice would be this one:

    I’ll use basmati rice for this recipe.

Leave a Reply

