The Eggless Tort

A New York lawyer's adventures with animal-free eating

Vegan zucchini bread muffins and fresh raw applesauce

Okay, so I’m one of those people who loves cupcakes. And cupcake shaped things. Also known as muffins. You might have noticed (ahem, pineapple upside down cake), if it can be done in a muffin/cupcake, I want to do it! This also applies to savory things – I make excellent loaf muffins…

My brother and sister-in-law are in town from St. Louis this week, so we decided at the last minute (of course) to have a brunch for them on Sunday morning. Among other things, I found this zucchini bread recipe here and adapted it for muffins and to my taste.

Zucchini Bread Muffins

6 tbsp ground flax seeds whisked into ½ cup + 1 tbsp warm water
½ cup oil
½ cup applesauce
2 cups brown sugar
2 tsp. vanilla
2½ cups grated zucchini, packed (approximately 3 medium)
3 cups flour
1 tsp. salt
1 tbsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tbsp. cinnamon
2 tsp. nutmeg

Mix together flax seed mixture, oil, applesauce, sugar, and vanilla. Grate your zucchini and drain (I smush it in a small strainer – it’s amazing how much water is in a zucchini!!) and pack it before measuring. Add the zucchini to the wet mixture and stir until combined.

In a separate bowl, mix together the remaining ingredients. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir just until everything is incorporated.

Grease/line muffin tins and fill approximately halfway.  Bake at 350 for 25-26 minutes for  regular muffins and 30-32 for large muffins (6 to a tin), or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

I especially love using my large muffin tins. I’m not sure why… Other than that I’m a glutton 🙂

Enjoy!!

Fun fact – I’m one of those people who doesn’t necessarily look in the pantry to make sure I have all of the ingredients for something before I start making it… This often results in poor Ed getting sent out in his pjs. For this recipe, I didn’t have applesauce. But I did have apples! We went apple picking last weekend, so we had a bunch of fresh apples, just waiting to be used. So… I cut four up, tossed them into my food processor, and made fresh, raw applesauce to use for these muffins 🙂 Perfect!

One response to “Vegan zucchini bread muffins and fresh raw applesauce

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Vegan zucchini bread muffins and fresh raw applesauce | The Eggless Tort -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

