The Eggless Tort

A New York lawyer's adventures with animal-free eating

Super easy seitan

I feel like, since I stopped eating meat, I’m constantly on the lookout for new recipes that help simulate meat. Maybe it’s just me, but I ate meat for almost 27 years of my life, so I’ve really been exposed to a broad spectrum of meats. I almost envy my friends who went veg at age 12 or 14, because they don’t really know what they’re missing…

It’s not that I want to eat meat, but that I think fondly of certain meats… for me, it’s pulled pork, salmon, and scallops. I’ve only recently started experimenting with making my own seitan, so these recipes are a work in progress on my way towards finding food that reminds me of some of my favorite pre-veg dishes…

This super easy recipe is adapted from a recipe found in the veganfreak.com forums.

Simple Seitan

(Dry ingredients)
2 cups of Vital Wheat Gluten
2 tbsp. of All-Purpose Flour
1/4 cup of Nutritional Yeast

(Wet Ingredients)
1 1/2 cups of Cold Water
1/2 cup of Bragg’s Aminos, Tamari or Soy Sauce
1 tbsp. Ketchup
1 tbsp. Chicken flavored seasoning
1 tbsp. Canola Oil (or Olive Oil)
1 tsp. Onion Powder
1 tsp. Garlic Powder

Preheat oven to 325°. In a large mixing bowl, mix dry ingredients. Mix liquid ingredients in a smaller mixing bowl. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients. Mix well, then knead for a minute or two. Form into a log (6-8″ long) and wrap tightly in foil, twisting ends. Bake for 90 minutes. When done baking, unwrap and leave out to cool all the way. Then wrap it foil or plastic and refrigerate. Slice to use as desired.

Of course, if you cook the seitan differently, you will get different textures — trying simmering shaped patties for 15-20 minutes. Next time I make this, I’ll be doing that, and adding some more beefy flavorings to the mix…

3 responses to “Super easy seitan

  1. Amanda September 8, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    I love this recipe! I’ve used it sooo many times! 🙂

  2. wolfshowl September 8, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    Hmm, I think I’d like this better if it was beef-flavored. It’s pretty easy to find good-tasting fake chicken in the grocery store, but fake beef? I almost always have to get that at a restaurant. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

