The Eggless Tort

A New York lawyer's adventures with animal-free eating

An everyday meal: Pastabilities

So, you might have noticed already… I’m kind’ve a lazy person. And by kind’ve, I mean I definitely am. Also, it’s been crazy hot in the northeast, which makes me not want to go outside, even to grill. This often results in me throwing together whatever happens to already be in my kitchen and/or garden — from the air conditioned loveliness of my kitchen.

I went to Bryn Mawr College for part of my undergraduate years (I know, why I did not become veg there, I have no idea), and they had this one dining hall (Erdman, known for its ugliness and girls who didn’t shower) that served “Pastabilities” on Friday nights. The track team used to go there to carb load. I, being a member of the track team, went with. Pastabilities basically just means sauteing whatever veggies you want in olive/sesame oil, then mixing in some cooked pasta and tossing it all together, maybe putting cheese or whatever on top. I actually still call this Pastabilities when I make it. However, since I no longer have dining hall staff cutting up all of my veggies and whatnot, the veggie factor has dropped a bit. I usually saute onions, garlic, a variety of peppers, and tomatoes together (in the summer, straight from our garden), then add whatever type of pasta I happen to have on hand.

It’s pretty quick, very easy, and it tastes like you put more effort into it than you really did. Perfect. In the picture, I included some grilled chicken flavored seitan to go along with it, but I usually eat it without any meat substitute.

Leave a Reply

