The Eggless Tort

A New York lawyer's adventures with animal-free eating

Veg Fiesta, Part 2: Spicy bean and corn salsa

After making the Burrito Lasagna, I decided that wasn’t enough, because I’ve been wanting to try this great Spicy Bean Salsa recipe…  I LOVE the colors in this salsa. It’s not a traditional tomato based salsa. I mean, there are def. tomatoes in there, but they don’t have a starring role. And I especially loved using fresh Anaheim peppers, jalapeno peppers, onions, and cherry tomatoes from my very own little veggie garden! I’ve adapted the recipe to include what we had in our garden and what we like taste-wise.

Spicy Bean Salsa
Prep time: 10 mins.

Ingredients

  • 1 can black-eyed peas (I used frozen and just kinda wung it – it thaws while it marinates)
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can whole kernel corn, drained (again, I used frozen and guesstimated)
  • 1 small chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper, or whatever pepper you prefer (I used Anaheim)
  • 3-4 diced jalapeno peppers, or whatever hot pepper you prefer
  • 3 medium tomatoes, diced, or 1 can diced tomatoes, drained (I used cherry tomatoes and guessed)
  • 1/4 balsamic vinegar or red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 olive oil
  • 1/4 Italian salad dressing
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • 1/4 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. chili powder
  • 2 tsp. fresh cilantro
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, combine everything; mix well. Cover, and refrigerate overnight (or as long as you can stand to) to blend flavors.

This makes quite a bit, so it’s perfect for a get-together. And the fresher your ingredients, the better it will taste.

And honestly, this stuff is so fricking good, you’ll probably end up making a meal of it… I’ve done that several times now.

One response to “Veg Fiesta, Part 2: Spicy bean and corn salsa

  1. ImAprilE August 4, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    That looks awesome! I must make it this weekend! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

