The Eggless Tort

A New York lawyer's adventures with animal-free eating

Vegan Pulled Pork (with jackfruit)

I LOVE pulled pork. Like Aloo Mutter, this is one of my orgasmic foods. I used to go to BBQ competitions solely to taste as much pulled pork as I could. Ahem. That doesn’t really happen anymore. At all. Yes, I was a very active meat eater previously. I am ashamed. Let’s move on.

I got this basic recipe here, then embellished it to suit my own tastes. You can find jackfruit at almost any Asian food store. And yes, it does feel like meat. I actually checked a few times while I was shredding because the texture was close to meat. You know, just in case they accidentally threw some meat in there with the fruit… :)

Vegan Pulled Pork

4 cans of young/green jackfruit
3 tsp. minced garlic (approximately 3 cloves)
2 green onions, chopped
1 cup white wine (whatever brand you prefer)
1/2 bottle barbecue sauce (whatever brand/type you prefer – I used Hannaford Sweet and Zesty)
crushed red pepper, to taste
salt and pepper, to taste

This is jackfruit. In cans.

This is jackfruit. Not in a can. Rinse the jackfruit to remove the salty brine, then let drain. Jackfruit is weird looking. And weird feeling. And just generally weird. It has these balls in it (seeds?) that are meaty-like as well, so you can squish them up, but when they are wet, they are slippery little bastards. Just sayin’. #thesesuckerswereallovermykitchen (Also, yes, that is a Disney Princesses plate in the background. No, we do not have children. Sookie likes to eat in style.)

Anyway, shred the jackfruit however you like. I just used my hands, but some people use a potato masher or whatever. Don’t go crazy — it’s supposed to look like pulled pork, not pudding.

Put the jackfruit in your crockpot, then add the garlic, green onions, wine, barbecue sauce and seasonings.

Cook on high for 4 hours (or low for 8 hours).

Serve with barbecue-type things like vegetarian baked beans and vegan coleslaw. I totally ate it on a roll. And by “on a roll,” I mean in traditional pulled pork style, with it falling down your chin onto your shirt. Sigh.

This makes quite a bit and stores and freezes well. The texture is not quite like meat, but it’s kinda close. And the flavor is really good. Yay!

5 responses to “Vegan Pulled Pork (with jackfruit)

  1. Leinana November 12, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    Yum! I have been so curious about these famous jackfruit “meat” recipes… this looks so easy and SO tasty too! I’m definitely going to try it! :)

  2. Pingback: Vegan Coleslaw with Caraway Seed | The Eggless Tort

  3. Verge November 12, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    Cool, It looked like you made it just right. Not too tough and pretty delicious. thanks for the trackback, although the real recipe is now found over here

    http://onthevergeoftears.wordpress.com/2010/02/15/jackfruit-recipe-vegan-pulled-pork/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

