The Eggless Tort

A New York lawyer's adventures with animal-free eating

I’m in love

His name is Ed. Dukes, if you are one of his old drinking buddies. Honeybun, if you are me.

He is the most wonderful man I’ve ever met. Literally. I’m not just saying that because he’s mine. He is interesting and intelligent. He takes such good care of our (fur) babies. He almost never complains, though he ends up doing most of the housework because I am a lazy slug and a horrible housewife. He singlehandedly made me more liberal than I already was (which I love). He comes up with ridiculously awesome ideas for a (secret) blog I work for, much to the delight of my fellow bloggers. He eats my tofu and tolerates (and supports) my sudden passions for knitting, or pianos, or Twitter, or blogging, or running…

I certainly don’t deserve him. He is a better person than me by far.

We’ve been together for going on 10 years. And we’ve been married for 3 years today.

He complements me well. I’m so full of passion and rage and righteous indignation and ridiculousness, wanting to do anything and everything all at once and RIGHT NOW. Ed is my calm. He brings me back to earth.

“What I need to survive is not Gale’s fire, kindled with rage and hatred. I have plenty of fire myself. What I need is the dandelion in the spring. The bright yellow that means rebirth instead of destruction. The promise that life can go on, no matter how bad our losses. That it can be good again. And only Peeta can give me that.” — Suzanne Collins

6 responses to “I’m in love

  1. Katie H. November 9, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    Aw, this is so sweet. Happy anniversary guys!

  2. obava November 10, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    Aw- so sweet! You are a lucky woman, and Ed is a lucky man <3

  3. Snarkier Than You November 14, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    This is such a sweet post! Beautiful pic, too… : )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

